Do I have what it takes?

ChimaeraOne's Cookie Reputation: 25

Default Do I have what it takes?

Hey guys, thanks for dropping by and reading what I have to type.

Okay so. I'm currently 18 and I would REALLY love to work into the gaming industry but I'm feeling like I lack knowledge somewhere. I'm currently studying Programming/Web Design and here what I learned so far: C, C++, Visual Basic, Java, HTML and PHP. I have a couple more things left to see with classes but with the mentioned coding/programming languages mentioned above, do you think I would have chances to work as a programmer?

I'm writing this because like I said, I'm not feeling confident toward my future and not having possibilities to work into what I love too is a thought that kills me inside.

Thanks in advance.

Sam

Crumbly, yet Good Reputation: 75

I'd learn a few libraries beyond those languages (like OpenGL), but yes, C++ and Java are generally the two languages you're going to need.

You should also try to see what you can do to get an internship at a gaming company, if that's where you want to go. If there's one in your area, talk to your school about possibly doing some sort of co-op, if they offer it.

If they don't, look up the phone number for human resources of whichever game company you'd like to apply to, and ask them! That's what HR is there for. Say you're a student who's looking for an opportunity to work at their company as a tools/graphics/gameplay programmer when you graduate, and ask them what qualifications you might need.

Most companies usually require a Computer Science/Software Engineering degree from an accredited university, but some don't require a degree at all; and a lot will take you (or so I've heard) if you have something equivalent, or if you simply have good, relevant work experience on your resume.

Which game company were you thinking of working at?

EDIT: Ohho! I see you're also chillin' over here with me in Montreal. So you have plenty of choice.