Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Would you?

  1. #1
    Banned Reputation: 12

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    The Bahamas
    Posts
    709
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Would you?

    So...I'm seriously considering getting a totally pimped out new desktop for $10k.

    This isn't just the computer by the way, its the monitor and speakers and all a dat sheit. Now...I was wondering if anyone else would be prepared to make such a heavy investment(If you could manage the money). Yes its probably all not necessary to run most games but I've been using shitty *** stock computers all my life. And I want something that will call up a few friends and run train on the games that are coming out today instead of being able to play it fairly well. So yah...

    Would anyone else consider buying one? (BTW mine is summin I made on Digital Storm)

    Also...Do ya think someone could make some donations shit using paypal and get that much money for a new comp? O.o Doesn't seem to far fetched if you beg I mean...well can't think of any other word for it, in the right places.

  2. #2
    Sun? What Sun? Reputation: 20
    TKkira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    newland,north carolina
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    So your asking people to give you donations to buy a new computer?
    my NEW rp: Mithril: Fantasy

    mithril Fantasys website: http://mithrilfantasy.webs.com/


  3. #3
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 18

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    If you're going to put that kind of money into a desktop, I would seriously consider building it yourself, and everyone here will probably be echoing my sentiments. It's cheaper to buy the parts individually, plus you don't have to stick to what companies offer, you can generally get newer bits of kit, like ATI's new 5970, which is the best graphics card you can buy.

    If you don't know how or are worried about doing it, you can always speak to some tech savvy friends to help you build it, there are also plenty of sites that will tell you how to do it.

  4. #4
    Banned Reputation: 12

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    The Bahamas
    Posts
    709
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    If you're going to put that kind of money into a desktop, I would seriously consider building it yourself, and everyone here will probably be echoing my sentiments. It's cheaper to buy the parts individually, plus you don't have to stick to what companies offer, you can generally get newer bits of kit, like ATI's new 5970, which is the best graphics card you can buy.

    If you don't know how or are worried about doing it, you can always speak to some tech savvy friends to help you build it, there are also plenty of sites that will tell you how to do it.
    But ordering from them is just like building it yourself without all the hassle. They also offer stuff that'd be pretty hard to get or you just couldn't normally and I live outside of U.S so I can't be dewin to much shippin. And I was planning to get a 5970 :P...well Crossfire at least. Which would be *****in *** kickin. (Except for prolly some driver bugs and the whole profile wait.)

    Quote Originally Posted by TKkira View Post
    So your asking people to give you donations to buy a new computer?
    Do you see a link? Or have you read the post for that matter.
    Last edited by Nonsue; 11-30-2009 at 09:30 PM. Reason: -=Doublepost=-

  5. #5
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 18

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    5970 is a dual gpu card, you won't need it in crossfire unless you plan to use about 6 monitors. Alone it can max modern warfare 2 across 3 monitors.

    Also, the companies do build it for you, but they charge a bit extra for doing so. It can be quicker to just build it yourself.

  6. #6
    Sun? What Sun? Reputation: 20
    TKkira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    newland,north carolina
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Geforces SLI is kickass if your gonna put alot of money into....but CrossFireX is good to...but like Wahoo said build it yourself our get a Custom Pc builder to do it.
    my NEW rp: Mithril: Fantasy

    mithril Fantasys website: http://mithrilfantasy.webs.com/


  7. #7
    Banned Reputation: 12

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    The Bahamas
    Posts
    709
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    5970 is a dual gpu card, you won't need it in crossfire unless you plan to use about 6 monitors. Alone it can max modern warfare 2 across 3 monitors.

    Also, the companies do build it for you, but they charge a bit extra for doing so. It can be quicker to just build it yourself.

    If you do live outside the US, then why are you using $ btw? It confused me. You from Canada or Australia or something?
    Trust meh...I'd need It in crossfire. I mean sure it won't have much problems for games once they're supported but MW2 isn't that graphically intense of a game. I'm sure something in the near future woud put it to the test.

    And.......Sure they charge extra but yah...like I said shipping all those would be a big hassle.

    And I'm using $ because I live in The Bahamas if you hadn't noticed. And over hur...seeing as we're so "close" with the U.S. Americans can just use their currency when they come here because the value of our dollar is equal (Though really its like 0.9999999 somethin) and yar...Only thing is that we gotta change ours to American when we go over there though mainly because we're way smaller than America and yar...we're kind of like america's *****.

    Quote Originally Posted by TKkira View Post
    Geforces SLI is kickass if your gonna put alot of money into....but CrossFireX is good to...but like Wahoo said build it yourself our get a Custom Pc builder to do it.
    I thought the general belief was that Crossfire > Sli.

    Though I have a question for you...how sucessful has your...company been so far. >_> Not trying to troll or anything but I feel as though I could get into some shit like that.
    Last edited by Nonsue; 11-30-2009 at 09:40 PM. Reason: -=Doublepost=-

  8. #8
    Sun? What Sun? Reputation: 20
    TKkira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    newland,north carolina
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    "Do ya think someone could make some donations shit using paypal"

    Thats why i was asking if you where ask for people to give you donations.
    But a custom pc builder well do it and put it together and send it to you. and take care of everything, unlike the some of the companys.

    And we are doing decent for a new company. we have almost made a sell on the ZX-27
    my NEW rp: Mithril: Fantasy

    mithril Fantasys website: http://mithrilfantasy.webs.com/


  9. #9
    Retired Staff Reputation: 704
    SnOwBunZz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hamster's closet.
    Posts
    12,738
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    You'll pay 10 grand for a rig that'll last about 4 years while you can get a +-800-1000 usd one that'll last 2 years and save you about 8 grand in the end.

    It's up to your e-peen to decide if you want to have it or not. >_<
    I know I wouldn't.

  10. #10
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 18

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    If you are going to get that card, make sure you buy a big enough case to fit it, that card is about a foot long and needs a big *** case, also, I do not know if they have the blocks yet for those cards, so you might need to wait a little bit for those when you order it.

    Even though it's cheaper, look into getting one of the lower CPU's (eg the i920) and overclocking it, the thing can go to 4.2ghz with good water cooling. If the company is worth their salt, they'll do it for you.

  11. #11
    Sun? What Sun? Reputation: 20
    TKkira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    newland,north carolina
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Over clocking is pretty Un-safe. but then again if hes got that much cash then...it really doesnt have to worrie about it, you have to make sure everything Works together to get a good Gaming System though
    my NEW rp: Mithril: Fantasy

    mithril Fantasys website: http://mithrilfantasy.webs.com/


  12. #12
    Retired Staff Reputation: 704
    SnOwBunZz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hamster's closet.
    Posts
    12,738
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TKkira View Post
    Over clocking is pretty Un-safe.
    It's not as unsafe as people think.
    The ones that blow up either OCed too much in one time or got shitty cooling.

  13. #13
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 18

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TKkira View Post
    Over clocking is pretty Un-safe. but then again if hes got that much cash then...it really doesnt have to worrie about it, you have to make sure everything Works together to get a good Gaming System though
    It's only unsafe if you don't know what you're doing and push the voltages too high. Same goes for the RAM, the motherboard should have warnings for the RAM telling you if you push the voltage too high (eg, over 1.65V) then your RAM won't last as long.

    I guess how high you push the overclock depends on how long you plan to keep your system, but like I said, with good watercooling, overclocking is easy, and i920 can be pushed a lot over stock, even 3.8ghz is easy on it.

  14. #14
    Sun? What Sun? Reputation: 20
    TKkira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    newland,north carolina
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    really? i always heard it was Unsafe and not a wise thing to do?? if you dont have much money that is because theys always that chance its going to fry?
    my NEW rp: Mithril: Fantasy

    mithril Fantasys website: http://mithrilfantasy.webs.com/


  15. #15
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 18

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TKkira View Post
    really? i always heard it was Unsafe and not a wise thing to do?? if you dont have much money that is because theys always that chance its going to fry?
    Generally if you don't have much money then overclocking might not be a good idea, simply because you'll still be using the stock cooler. You can buy very good coolers for cheap that mean you can overclock easy, and motherboards these days have great overclocking capability. The gigabyte is the prime example of an overclockers board.

  16. #16
    Sun? What Sun? Reputation: 20
    TKkira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    newland,north carolina
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    i7 is Series,you have to buy parts that Compabilty with them dont you? where its a Really good CPU??

    Sorry for my bad grammer
    my NEW rp: Mithril: Fantasy

    mithril Fantasys website: http://mithrilfantasy.webs.com/


  17. #17
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 18

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    874
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TKkira View Post
    i7 is Series,you have to buy parts that Compabilty with them dont you? where its a Really good CPU??

    Sorry for my bad grammer
    You have to buy motherboards with the corresponding socket to match the processor you're going to buy.

    So for an i7 920 you'd need a socket 1366 board.
    Last edited by Wahoo; 11-30-2009 at 10:02 PM.

  18. #18
    Sun? What Sun? Reputation: 20
    TKkira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    newland,north carolina
    Posts
    985
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Okay, i see i just never really used OverClocking so i do not know how to really dont know much about it eathier....but thats why i'm going to collage for Computer Scenice and PC repair

    Just as a wonder what is the OverClocking Abilites of the AMD phenom II's?
    Last edited by TKkira; 11-30-2009 at 10:06 PM.
    my NEW rp: Mithril: Fantasy

    mithril Fantasys website: http://mithrilfantasy.webs.com/


  19. #19
    Banned Reputation: 12

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    The Bahamas
    Posts
    709
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    You'll pay 10 grand for a rig that'll last about 4 years while you can get a +-800-1000 usd one that'll last 2 years and save you about 8 grand in the end.

    It's up to your e-peen to decide if you want to have it or not. >_<
    I know I wouldn't.
    K you not understanding how totally pawn this shit is...Though I kinda want to wait for i9 to come out yah...I dunno. I already waited for 5970 >.<

    Anyhew...

    Its a i7 erm...The extreme one can't remember 975 or sumthin. BUT! They'll overclock it for me to 4.0-4.2 ghz though you can ask they to push it further I believe...and oh do I plan to. ALSO as I stated before it would have two 5970s in Crossfire. Liek...16 GB of ram, Can't remeber exact mobo but it was Asus and it seemed aight from reviews and crap.

    ALSO.....Thats a 26" monitor though it'd only be 1900x1200 =/ and some Razer speakers or some shit and one of those Killer Xeno Network Cards(I know they are claimed to not do much but I'd like to try one anyway)

    Aaaaaaaaaaaand some Razer Keyboard and Mouse >_>

    AND TEH IMPURTUN STUFFZ! a Haf 932 case with 6 zalman I believe fans with a Dual Loop Liquid Cooling system designed for quad gpu and overclocked CPU and shiz and yah liek I sed...pimped out. I think that it'd last like 6-7 years really >_>

    Oh and they would overclock the GPU and somethin else can't remeber

    OHSHT! I forgot about my 2x Solid State Disk 160GB(The Intel ones) and 1x 2TB Western Digital which btw will be running on Windows 7 Premium or whateve...yah.
    Last edited by Nonsue; 11-30-2009 at 10:32 PM.

  20. #20
    Loric's Lunatic Reputation: 66

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,655
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    No.

    10No's and never's
    I Don't need to get a life, im a gamer. I have LOTS of lives
    -lagmegnorsk

  21. #21
    Dixie Banana Bar Reputation: 19
    GooLooGooLoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    283
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Dont get an I7 975 for your rig. Complete waste of money compared to other I7s on the market right now.

    With an I7 920 U can hit 4 ghz easily with the megahalems. Hell i seen some rigs hit 5 on air with the same cooler. If the folks at digital storm only clocks your cpu to 4

    Xeno NIC cards are a waste of money but buy if you got the bling to burn.

    For OC'ing the video cards all you need is EVGA precision or some ATI equivalent.

    You should buy your monitor, razor mouse, speakers etc off newegg or some other e-trailer. Chances are they gona overprice that shit by a large margin.

    All you need is 1 SSD for the OS and another 500GB-1TB HD. Dont see any reason anypoint for a raid SSD


    As for spending 10 grand on a PC, i rather get myself a new car ehuehuehe



  22. #22
    Banned Reputation: 12

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    The Bahamas
    Posts
    709
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GooLooGooLoo View Post
    Dont get an I7 975 for your rig. Complete waste of money compared to other I7s on the market right now.

    With an I7 920 U can hit 4 ghz easily with the megahalems. Hell i seen some rigs hit 5 on air with the same cooler. If the folks at digital storm only clocks your cpu to 4

    Xeno NIC cards are a waste of money but buy if you got the bling to burn.

    For OC'ing the video cards all you need is EVGA precision or some ATI equivalent.

    You should buy your monitor, razor mouse, speakers etc off newegg or some other e-trailer. Chances are they gona overprice that shit by a large margin.

    All you need is 1 SSD for the OS and another 500GB-1TB HD. Dont see any reason anypoint for a raid SSD


    As for spending 10 grand on a PC, i rather get myself a new car ehuehuehe
    10 grand is a bit em...cheap for a new car isn't it? o.o As in it likely wouldn't be new, new to you sure but yah.

    Anyway, I suppose that I don't need the 2 SSDs and 2TB mainly because I'd prolly never use one SSD...I was just going to be ballin like that, BUT!

    I wanted the Xeno thingy cuz my ISP is retarded or summin and I do recieve plenty lag alot of the time so I was just gonna try it out...plus they're only like $100 or so >_> and stuff.

    Also didn't realize that there wuz cheaper i7 cards or summin and yah >_>

  23. #23
    Retired Staff Reputation: 704
    SnOwBunZz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hamster's closet.
    Posts
    12,738
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nonsue View Post
    I wanted the Xeno thingy cuz my ISP is retarded or summin and I do recieve plenty lag alot of the time so I was just gonna try it out...plus they're only like $100 or so >_> and stuff.
    If your line is bad, the card barely or even won't help at all.

  24. #24
    Banned Reputation: 12

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    The Bahamas
    Posts
    709
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    If your line is bad, the card barely or even won't help at all.
    I'm just really unsure as to what it is...Its supposed to be DSL but it seems seriously slow...a 100K/B download speed is the MAX I've EVER downloaded.

    Thought that it had something to do with wireless connection and router and such but I went to a family members house and they've got wireless and routers and shiz the sameish set up as us. Except they use cable and I started some download that took me 5 hours to finish and the shit said and did finish in 10 minutes so I was like .

    I just think that the company is ripping people off but I can't really tell if they are and such. Ghey thing is that my dad works for them though not in the internet department but yah...I also noticed that sometimes at night the internet must slow or some shit because I play HON all the time usually in the day and its fine but when 10pm or later comes around I start lagging like ****.

    Its really annoying =/ The basterds.

  25. #25
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 265
    Paladuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Pond
    Posts
    5,060
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Actually just the other day I went on Alienware and created the most monstrous gaming PC I could. It was pretty much 10k lol.

    Its still not worth it though. Even if you put building it yourself out of the picture, its cheaper to get a PC that will be amazing for 2 years every 2 years than it is to get a PC that will be amazing for 8 years. And that's being generous, who knows how good a 10k PC will be in 8 years.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •