Blue Screen issue, new machine

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1
    500+ Posts???? Reputation: 19
    Shattered Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    512
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Blue Screen issue, new machine

    My build is in the last post of this thread: http://www.onrpg.com/boards/145091.html

    I just put this computer together this afternoon, plugged it in, and boom bluescreen.

    I checked the BIOS, both of my IDE hard drives are showing up and the new SATA drive is showing up.

    Right before it blue screens, the monitor says that no hard disk detected.

    Ideas?

  2. #2
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 18

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    877
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    go to your bios, make it so that when it does blue screen it doesn't automatically restart. When it blue screen's, copy the error message or code that appears and google it.

  3. #3
    Moderator of Mayhem Reputation: 572
    SnOwPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Flanders
    Posts
    12,057
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shattered Skies View Post
    Right before it blue screens, the monitor says that no hard disk detected.
    Check the BIOS if your HDD is detected.
    Check if the cables are pushed in properly.


    [My Anime List] | [last.fm] | [xfire] | [Steam]
    Quote Originally Posted by duby View Post
    i have no clue as to what a paragraph is

  4. #4
    500+ Posts???? Reputation: 19
    Shattered Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    512
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wahoo View Post
    go to your bios, make it so that when it does blue screen it doesn't automatically restart. When it blue screen's, copy the error message or code that appears and google it.
    The error is 0x0000007B which from Google is an inaccessable boot drive.

    Before I moved the hard drives over from my old computer, they were running fine and had no issues. Unsure what is causing the issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    Check the BIOS if your HDD is detected.
    Check if the cables are pushed in properly.
    All of the drives show up in BIOS. But when it is going through its startup I get the error:
    Adapter 1:
    Disk Information:
    No Hard Disk Detected

    It will then go to the Windows Logo and blue screen there.
    Last edited by Shattered Skies; 11-30-2009 at 09:45 PM.

  5. #5
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 260
    Paladuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Pond
    Posts
    5,062
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    So you have 2 IDE drives and 1 SATA? I would maybe try booting your computer with just 1 plugged in at a time to see what the culript is.


  6. #6
    500+ Posts???? Reputation: 19
    Shattered Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    512
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Yes, 2 IDE drives (from original computer) and a new SATA drive.

    One of the IDE drives is the boot drive, and the second was a storage drive. Both were working from the old machine. I'm about to replace them in the original PC to see if there are still any other problems.

    Is the BIOS installed on the hard drive itself? Or does it get stored on the MB somehow? I was thinking, could there be some sort of argument going on with the original MB BIOS and this new BIOS from the new MB? Mmm accronyms.

  7. #7
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 260
    Paladuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Pond
    Posts
    5,062
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    BIOS is on the motherboard only

    When you first boot up, go into BIOS and then tell your computer not to boot anything except the primary hard drive. See if that works.


  8. #8
    500+ Posts???? Reputation: 19
    Shattered Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    512
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    I moved both the IDE harddrives back to the original computer and they worked fine.

    Any other ideas?

    EDIT: I moved the SATA drive to the original computer and rebooted without any issues. The SATA drive won't show up in my computer but it is listed in the BIOS and the device manager.

    EDIT 2: Would connecting all the extra fans together as one to save from using 4 extra power connectors cause any issues when booting up the computer? Should I separate a couple of them?
    Last edited by Shattered Skies; 11-30-2009 at 11:00 PM.

  9. #9
    Loric's Lunatic Reputation: 66

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,655
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Did you wipe the IDE boot drive?
    I Don't need to get a life, im a gamer. I have LOTS of lives
    -lagmegnorsk

  10. #10
    500+ Posts???? Reputation: 19
    Shattered Skies's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    512
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    No I didn't, I just transferred the hard drive over and got BSODs.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •