OpenGL Hardware Acceleration?

  1. #1
    Eriond's Egotist Reputation: 36
    Starkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,768
    Rep Power
    7

    Default OpenGL Hardware Acceleration?

    So I've downloaded Cosmic Break, it looks fun, but whenever I try running the game I get a black screen, then it shuts down and a little error pops up saying "OpenGL Hardware Acceleration is invalid. Please check your display drivers".

    Solution?

  2. #2
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 585
    Ronin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hitman Victor
    Posts
    6,090
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Being in some sort of zen mood, or w/e you may call it:

    Make sure to not check your display drivers.

    Stay frosty.

  3. #3
    Eriond's Egotist Reputation: 36
    Starkler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,768
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ronin View Post
    Being in some sort of zen mood, or w/e you may call it:

    Make sure to not check your display drivers.
    I obviously did it when they told me to, it's just that nothing happened, so I came to onrpg.

    Common sense ftw.

  4. #4
    Crumbly, yet Good Reputation: 75
    Eriond's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1,798
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Well, if your drivers are up-to-date, this error can mean pretty much anything. They didn't even give you an error code.

    A cursory search with google just shows threads telling people how to update drivers.

    Apparently the thing to look at is this thread (so says the official FAQ):

    http://www.cosmicbreak.com/commu/?m=...u_topic_id=169
    THIS MA SIGNATURE

  5. #5
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 585
    Ronin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hitman Victor
    Posts
    6,090
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Starkler View Post
    Common sense ftw.
    I am sure, that there needs to be more of it in this thread.

    You can fix the lack by posting your hardware config, driver versions, OS, etc. and exact steps you tried in fixing your problem, which you forgot to add in the op.

    @Eriond:
    The general rate of technical errors and misunderstandings in the thread you posted is hilarious. OpenGl was supposedly made for nvidia only... Roflmao.
    Last edited by Ronin; 12-17-2010 at 01:19 PM.

    Stay frosty.

  6. #6
    Crumbly, yet Good Reputation: 75
    Eriond's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1,798
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ronin View Post
    I am sure, that there needs to be more of it in this thread.

    You can fix the lack by posting your hardware config, driver versions, OS, etc. and exact steps you tried in fixing your problem, which you forgot to add in the op.

    @Eriond:
    The general rate of technical errors and misunderstandings in the thread you posted is hilarious. OpenGl was supposedly made for nvidia only... Roflmao.
    Yeah, I noticed that, lol. I develop in OpenGL myself and was about to post an angry reply to the guy, but two things;

    A ) He's probably a troll, and arguing with him wouldn't do anything.

    B ) OpenGL 3.1 did deprecate a bunch of functionality; so I was unsure of whether or not this was what he was talking about, but I can't see ATI not supporting the old stuff, as that'd be insane.

    Still, it's listed as the official thread, and some responses are useful.
    THIS MA SIGNATURE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •