Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 44 of 44

Thread: Can anyone help me with my computer?

  1. #26
    Dixie Banana Bar Reputation: 8
    majjestic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    279
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    So far nothings really helped still getting pretty bad frame drops some guy mentioned my drivers might be out of date how do i know if they are out of date and how do i update them?

  2. #27
    Master Chief's Windex Reputation: 24
    vtrzzzzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    One does not simply reveal its location
    Posts
    94
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    Power supply is not linked to performance in any way.

    If your PSU doesn't give enough power, it will shut off immediately. Alternatively, it'll become an indian and send you a last smoke signal to tell you it died.
    Fair enough. Seems like he have a quite stable temperature.


    Quote Originally Posted by majjestic View Post
    So far nothings really helped still getting pretty bad frame drops some guy mentioned my drivers might be out of date how do i know if they are out of date and how do i update them?
    Reformat; might be the last/easiest option (if you can't figure out what registry problem, virus, disk error, etc you have) and if you truly believe that there is nothing wrong with the hardware issue
    Currently playing: Hearthstone; Aura Kingdom

  3. #28
    Dixie Banana Bar Reputation: 8
    majjestic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    279
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Okay something new just happened i was playing a game and it just frozed for like 10 seconds then a blue screen popped up with a bunch of words on it and my computer restarted wtf is going on i feel like my comps bout to die

  4. #29
    Master Chief's Windex Reputation: 24
    vtrzzzzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    One does not simply reveal its location
    Posts
    94
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by majjestic View Post
    Okay something new just happened i was playing a game and it just frozed for like 10 seconds then a blue screen popped up with a bunch of words on it and my computer restarted wtf is going on i feel like my comps bout to die
    okay. I really think there are 2 problems, either: something is up with your Operating System or insufficient Power Supply.

    Probably best to reformat if it is problem within the Operating System.

    have a look at this in regards to insufficient power supply. Someone did mention blue screen:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/35...nt-doesnt-meet
    and have a read at this as well if you experience such symptoms (in regards to power supply):
    http://superuser.com/questions/46837...t-enough-power
    Currently playing: Hearthstone; Aura Kingdom

  5. #30
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10
    Hardee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Could be your memory[ram]. Have you tried to run a memtest? Download it and put it on a CD or what not, run it on bootup and wait. If you get errors think about replacing your memory.

  6. #31
    Lockhart’s are forever Reputation: 10
    Abyssion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    379
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I suggest you completely format your PC to check it that helps. Otherwise it is a hardware issue I guess

  7. #32
    Detective Kirby Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    167
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    did u overclocked your cpu/gpu ? if not then download avast ..its free and scan ur pc.
    Babi3Boo

  8. #33
    Raiyne's Rock Band Reputation: 47
    zipykido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,136
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    I noticed that my old computer would slow down dramatically and my network speed would go really slowly when automatic updates were running. I would doublecheck your system to make sure that all automatic update downloads are disabled. Although since your computer does this frequently after being on for an hour it might be a hardware problem. If it was a PSU problem you'd see it immediately when trying to run any intense program. If you haven't you should download HWmonitor and doublecheck temperatures.

  9. #34
    Retired Staff Reputation: 714
    SnOwBunZz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hamster's closet.
    Posts
    12,755
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Ugh... Time to put in some order in this thread.

    Give us your FULL system specs.
    This means CPU, GPU, RAM, PSU, motherboard and RAM. This way we can link you drivers and/or tell you what's wrong (if PSU is inadequate*).

    Give us your minidump (for the BSOD)
    This is located under C:\Windows\Minidump. Upload it to your dropbox (or mediafire etc) and link us to it. This will tell us exactly what caused it.

    * It's funny to take a PSU 6 months to get it to the point where it's going bad, isn't it?

  10. #35
    Dixie Banana Bar Reputation: 8
    majjestic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    279
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Operating System
    Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
    CPU
    AMD FX-6100 46 °C
    Zambezi 32nm Technology
    RAM
    8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 800MHz (8-8-8-24)
    Motherboard
    ASRock 970 Extreme3 (CPUSocket) 34 °C
    Graphics
    SAMSUNG PDP (1920x1080@30Hz)
    SyncMaster (1280x1024@60Hz)
    AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    LogMeIn Mirror Driver
    Hard Drives
    1863GB Seagate ST2000DM001-1CH164 ATA Device (SATA) 30 °C
    Optical Drives
    ATAPI iHAS324 C ATA Device
    DTSOFT Virtual CdRom Device
    Audio
    AMD High Definition Audio Device

    And yea my pc is overclocked to 4ghz and if i format my pc wont i lose everything? Id like to try avoid doing that if i can. And that minidump thing i found it but it was just a bunch of jibberish you really need that?

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/sqvve26yjc...3-20342-01.dmp
    Last edited by majjestic; 12-11-2013 at 12:10 AM.

  11. #36
    Retired Staff Reputation: 714
    SnOwBunZz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hamster's closet.
    Posts
    12,755
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by majjestic View Post
    And yea my pc is overclocked to 4ghz and if i format my pc wont i lose everything? Id like to try avoid doing that if i can. And that minidump thing i found it but it was just a bunch of jibberish you really need that?
    Yes I do need that minidump file. You require a special program to read it. Most people will not be able to understand much out of either, even if it's not jibberish.
    You won't lose your drive if you partition correctly.

    I also would like if you could post your PSU specs.

  12. #37
    Dixie Banana Bar Reputation: 8
    majjestic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    279
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    Yes I do need that minidump file. You require a special program to read it. Most people will not be able to understand much out of either, even if it's not jibberish.
    You won't lose your drive if you partition correctly.

    I also would like if you could post your PSU specs.
    i posted a link to the minidump file how do i post my PSU specs?

  13. #38
    ChimaeraOne's Cookie Reputation: 52
    Heartyace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,343
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by majjestic View Post
    i posted a link to the minidump file how do i post my PSU specs?
    You can't, take a picture of the label after you've opened your rig up.
    I'll read this whole thread when I got time.

    Side note: Snowy is slacking~
    This sounded offensive, I meant this should be in the Tech corner by the first page.
    Last edited by Heartyace; 12-11-2013 at 05:03 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Your average commentor
    If she has anime flu, she will die.
    Wakfu: Roxie Hubrecut

  14. #39
    Retired Staff Reputation: 714
    SnOwBunZz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hamster's closet.
    Posts
    12,755
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    BSOD is caused by a 0x00000116 BCC. This indicates a GPU-related error.
    Given the file description states that DirectX caused it, I'm a bit weary of this. As you're a gamer, nearly every install prompts you for an update or recheck of DirectX. :/

    Either way, download the DirectX webinstaller and run it:
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-GB/downl...ils.aspx?id=35

    You also have an AMD GPU. You need to download and install the NORMAL 13.11 version. Link:
    http://support.amd.com/en-us/downloa...s%207%20-%2064

    Let us know if you still have issues.

    @Heartyace, I'm lazy. >_>

  15. #40
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 11

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    77
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    Power supply is not linked to performance in any way.

    If your PSU doesn't give enough power, it will shut off immediately. Alternatively, it'll become an indian and send you a last smoke signal to tell you it died.
    Poor quality PSU or faulty ones can spike as you mention with regard to the smoke, but they can also decrease in power as they get hot and cause problems with components when they do such as last week a friend was running a gtx 570 on a 500w even though the recommended spec s 550w it had been running fine for 4 or 5 months but it suddenly kept making the monitor go on standby after like an 20 mins or so. The standby couldn't be taken off so he was left with a blank screen.
    In the end we monitored the rail's and total power in general and found it was dropping low as it got hot, normally I would of thought it would of just turned itself off but that wasn't the case, it clearly allowed the computer to keep running but didn't allow the graphics card to full rail power to function properly as it got hot.

    The new cooler master PSU 700w fixed the problem straight away.

  16. #41
    ChimaeraOne's Cookie Reputation: 52
    Heartyace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    1,343
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dazzy View Post
    Poor quality PSU or faulty ones can spike as you mention with regard to the smoke, but they can also decrease in power as they get hot and cause problems with components when they do such as last week a friend was running a gtx 570 on a 500w even though the recommended spec s 550w it had been running fine for 4 or 5 months but it suddenly kept making the monitor go on standby after like an 20 mins or so. The standby couldn't be taken off so he was left with a blank screen.
    In the end we monitored the rail's and total power in general and found it was dropping low as it got hot, normally I would of thought it would of just turned itself off but that wasn't the case, it clearly allowed the computer to keep running but didn't allow the graphics card to full rail power to function properly as it got hot.

    The new cooler master PSU 700w fixed the problem straight away.
    There's a difference between a cheap PSU giving problems and a computer not getting enough power.
    500w is enough for a 570, unless your over clocking it. For a very long time I was running 6970 on a 500w for quite a bit (Nearly a year) before I switched it out for a 7970 and picked up my 650w. The PSU will either burn out (which usually leads to other things burning out) or it'll stop other things from running I.E fans, rarely does this. Usually will just shut down the pc and not be able to turn on.
    Quote Originally Posted by Your average commentor
    If she has anime flu, she will die.
    Wakfu: Roxie Hubrecut

  17. #42
    Dixie Banana Bar Reputation: 8
    majjestic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    279
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    So thanks everyone for the help the i was able to fix the FPS problem and stuttering but im still get this blue screen of death idk how to fix that

  18. #43
    Dixie Banana Bar Reputation: 8
    majjestic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    279
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Can anyone please help me out with the blue screen problem any idea what it could be?

  19. #44
    Master Chief's Windex Reputation: 24
    vtrzzzzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    One does not simply reveal its location
    Posts
    94
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by majjestic View Post
    Can anyone please help me out with the blue screen problem any idea what it could be?
    judging from the minidump file that you provided to SnOwBunZz, it should be GPU related error.
    If the blue screen you're encountering is stuff like

    Attempt to reset the display driver and recover from timeout failed.

    Technical Information:

    *** STOP: 0x00000116
    As what SnOwBunZz said:

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    BSOD is caused by a 0x00000116 BCC. This indicates a GPU-related error.
    Given the file description states that DirectX caused it, I'm a bit weary of this. As you're a gamer, nearly every install prompts you for an update or recheck of DirectX. :/
    update or uninstall/install your GPU drivers
    Currently playing: Hearthstone; Aura Kingdom

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •