Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Pure Open World MMORPGS are Rare Today

  1. #1
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 76
    Senseos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    887
    Rep Power
    6

    Default Pure Open World MMORPGS are Rare Today

    When i say Pure,Thats without teleports betw zones and town

    make a list games/ PWI/Lineage 2 wtc

  2. #2
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 344

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Computer?
    Posts
    5,170
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Senseos View Post
    When i say Pure,Thats without teleports betw zones and town

    make a list games/ PWI/Lineage 2 wtc
    You mean without loading the next area? There's no such game.

  3. #3
    🐼 Panda Moderator 🐼 Reputation: 580
    Seya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    ►Bamboo Forest◄
    Posts
    10,392
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    I think Tom Clancy's The Division is open world ... from just those gameplay videos they shown there were no loading screens .


  4. #4
    やめてください! Reputation: 296
    Orpheus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    9,710
    Rep Power
    21

    Default

    IIRC Ultima Online didn't have any loading screens or portals leading you to a different area.

  5. #5
    `Doll's Dishwasher Reputation: 106
    queenvoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,475
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Champions of Regnum. You really do have to ride everywhere. Teleports do exist but they are very rare and if a player has teleport powers, they are very limited in availability.

    and yea.. Regnum doesn't have much in the way of loading screens between zones. It's all largely seamless.
    Be warned - I am a major player of Regnum Online the mmo. I've been playing it for about 2 years and rarely go without logging in at least once a day. You can also look at good alternatives to Regnum such ase Aion online and Aika Online.

    http://i.imgur.com/OR8cPqY.gif
    http://i.minus.com/iuujAXwnufVSO.jpg
    http://i.minus.com/ibvD03fDh31lre.jpg
    http://i.minus.com/ibwoHNBFwlmuZF.gif
    http://i.minus.com/ibcdlNG4kU0IyS.gif

  6. #6
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 279
    Phenoca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Demacia
    Posts
    6,422
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Hail Queen Voo. She Hath Returned.

    Also: Runescape is (I would argue) Open World.

  7. #7
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 317
    Bad Hamster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Hamsterville
    Posts
    13,788
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jin-Roh View Post
    You mean without loading the next area? There's no such game.
    Well... FF14 1.0 used to be like that. You would only get a loading screen if you went to the zone of one of the 3 big cities.

  8. #8
    Dixie Banana Bar Reputation: 30

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    286
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave!Yognaught View Post
    World of Warcraft... does that, sept' cross-continents o-o
    from times i played it, its not true open world, it still have zone loading( in baground at the time u enter new zones). its just done wery good that doesnt interfere with gameplay.

    besides like u sayd yourself, still has continent loading.

  9. #9
    Spyro’s Burning Cough Reputation: 32
    Igneius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    MMO heaven :3
    Posts
    549
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Mortal online. The only time you get a loading screen is during login after that there isn't.

  10. #10
    Bongo Crazy Kong Reputation: 20

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    234
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    yep Mortal Online, no loading screen anywhere (dungeons, cities ...)
    yeah, I know, tons of grammar errors. Sorry :-(

  11. #11
    Lockhart’s are forever Reputation: 36
    hamidinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    399
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    Having loading screens or teleports doesn't make a game non open world...
    It's all bullshit folks, it's all bullshit and it's bad for ya!

  12. #12
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 76
    Senseos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    887
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hamidinator View Post
    Having loading screens or teleports doesn't make a game non open world...
    i said pure open world ,u Know lineage 2 is pure open world

  13. #13
    Forum PvPer Reputation: 610

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    11,357
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drakas View Post
    from times i played it, its not true open world, it still have zone loading( in baground at the time u enter new zones). its just done wery good that doesnt interfere with gameplay.

    besides like u sayd yourself, still has continent loading.
    what game /doesn't/ load upon entering a different zone.
    having everything render even when you're not in that area would be an incredible strain on your system.

  14. #14
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 76
    Senseos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    887
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidemo89 View Post
    yep Mortal Online, no loading screen anywhere (dungeons, cities ...)
    i cant change the camera in mortal to see my own char ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •