Pure Open World MMORPGS are Rare Today

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    Shadowsworn's Sandwich Reputation: 45
    DarkLight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,822
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Not really going to make a list for you, but a simple example of open world environments is a Perfect World this fits the bill as its a good example of having a large open area to play in.
    Most games today have maps inside maps! I think mapping is done purely because they don't want to have a server system in place that is able to stretch the limits. But what they didn't realise was that a more freely open world is less load on the server than a map based one wit a map based system your purely enclosed in one space, in an open world with new technology or advancement in gaming allows you to be in an area which does not affect any other part of the world other players are in.
    Games like Eve are pure mapping, originally when CCP started it was low budget game, un/fortunately for CCP they kept this concept going they needed too to keep their small client base, Now by years of adding maps, they have a massive mapped system, copies of old maps with added backgrounds. its mythed by the inclusion of gates which are just the excuse of adding yet a another map. And they are about to do it again.

    Rare developers that make large open world's for us to play in have gone the extra mile to create a true world with a true environment. that's an MMO to me and pure one.

  2. #12
    Ape for Diddy Reputation: 30

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    264
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dave!Yognaught View Post
    World of Warcraft... does that, sept' cross-continents o-o
    from times i played it, its not true open world, it still have zone loading( in baground at the time u enter new zones). its just done wery good that doesnt interfere with gameplay.

    besides like u sayd yourself, still has continent loading.

  3. #13
    Spyro’s Burning Cough Reputation: 32
    Igneius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    MMO heaven :3
    Posts
    529
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Mortal online. The only time you get a loading screen is during login after that there isn't.

  4. #14
    Bongo Crazy Kong Reputation: 20

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    227
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    yep Mortal Online, no loading screen anywhere (dungeons, cities ...)
    I don't know english very well because i'm italian

  5. #15
    Lockhart’s are forever Reputation: 16
    hamidinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    somewhere.... no really I do!
    Posts
    388
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Having loading screens or teleports doesn't make a game non open world...

  6. #16
    A Shrubbery Reputation: 76
    Senseos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    846
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hamidinator View Post
    Having loading screens or teleports doesn't make a game non open world...
    i said pure open world ,u Know lineage 2 is pure open world

  7. #17
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 288
    Candyholic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    bel sverige
    Posts
    9,704
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drakas View Post
    from times i played it, its not true open world, it still have zone loading( in baground at the time u enter new zones). its just done wery good that doesnt interfere with gameplay.

    besides like u sayd yourself, still has continent loading.
    what game /doesn't/ load upon entering a different zone.
    having everything render even when you're not in that area would be an incredible strain on your system.

    Quote Originally Posted by plotto View Post
    ps @varon: its called grammatical errors. so far as i can c, u have no clue about gamer language.

  8. #18
    A Shrubbery Reputation: 76
    Senseos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    846
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidemo89 View Post
    yep Mortal Online, no loading screen anywhere (dungeons, cities ...)
    i cant change the camera in mortal to see my own char ?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •