Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate thread with newbie questions

Sun? What Sun? Reputation: 41

Default Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate thread with newbie questions

Thought I'd continue my newbie questions here instead of in the thread that was more about freaking out in video games in general.
    And so!

1. How the heck do you add friends?

2. What are guild cards for and how do you use them?
    I read something about helping with missions or something...

3. I get nervous about randomly teaming up with people without at least talking to them first when I'm still new to a game, how does the network and multiplayer stuff work with that Cat/Neko character?

Updated!

4. How do you capture monsters? :/
    I'm on my first capturing quest and every time I have em in the trap they stay there a while then break out.
    I had it in a shock trap when it was really weak then it broke out, so I thought I had to hit it more, but after the next attack it died.
    I think I'm missing something...
    Last edited by Lina; 01-22-2014 at 02:56 AM. Reason: numbah fo

OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 131

Capturing a monster requires
    the monster is weak: limps, tries to sleep, etc
    a trap that works on it
    and tranq bombs.

Get the monster to limping stage, then trap it, then slap 2-3 tranq bombs in its face->captured.

Xenonight2's Zealot Reputation: 229

1. Dunno, I have the 3ds version only

2. Guild cards can be picked up by the cat in the port, you can then use the gong at the mission area of the port to select kinda what you want them to kill, you then talk to whatever hunter you got the card for at the area behind the food place to send them out.

3. No cat / neko, you get Shakalakas. You can bring one along in lieu of a person in multiplayer (E.g. if 2 people you can both bring 1).