Guild Wars 2 Specs help.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
  1. #11
    Bladin's Sword Sharpener Reputation: 88
    FarmerM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,151
    Rep Power
    2

    Default

    AMD vs Intel isn't really a huge issue. I have run AMD for years.
    It's about the quality of whichever you are using, and sadly your system is lacking.

    I would be amazed if you could run it on low at 15fps.

  2. #12
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MegaToxic View Post
    If this person can play GW2 just fine with intel graphics then shouldnt I?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNO3xNcgt1A
    Also
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3nvVevqMFM

    I mean unless I am missing something? They have Intel HD also.
    So seriously can someone explain this to me? If these two people can play GW2 with Intel HD graphics on low and what looks like medium with low then shouldn't I be able to? I feel like I would probably also get the FPS that the person in the second video got.

  3. #13
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 243
    HamsterMascot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Hamsterville
    Posts
    12,740
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Simple. You're using a laptop. That processor isn't made for heavy processes. It's great for simple things like browsing the internet or things like maplestory. But using it in 3D games like GW2 is highly impossible. It also doesn't change that GW2 has a awful optimized engine, and the recommended specs will be changed into the minimum.

    Want more proof? I run a i7 3770k 3.9Ghz (turbo), 2x Asus GTX660TI, 16gb ram and I run it on max settings not even above the 50fps.

    Want even more proof? Those videos are atleast 2 years old.

  4. #14
    Elsa! :3 Reputation: 572
    SnOwPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Flanders
    Posts
    12,119
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    What Hamster said.

    Laptop CPUs generally perform very poorly in games. Especially on a budget laptop like yours.


    [My Anime List] | [last.fm] | [xfire] | [Steam]
    Quote Originally Posted by duby View Post
    i have no clue as to what a paragraph is

  5. #15
    Fabio_R's Fruitcup Reputation: 60
    coldReactive's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    3,666
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    And as I've been told and said. Mobile GPUs are lower spec'd than their desktop variants. For instance, a GTX 780M is more like a GTX 650 or so. AMD However has the better Mobile advantage in GPUs. For instance, a 7950 or so would be more like a 7500~7600 or so.

    Only plays Burst Magic DPS Classes and Healers.
    Playing MMO: FFXIV (Ragnarok)
    Waiting On: EverQuest Next, FFXV, KH3 Saving For: An Epic Computer

  6. #16
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Okay..so I am still doing some searching and some people say that GW2 is pretty optimized when it comes to graphics. Well here is a link of someone asking basically the same thing I asked with intel HD graphics and they were told they would be able to play the game. Have I said I would mainly just be doing PVE? http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/...uild-wars.html
    Also here is a video not too old like the others, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVz2RUS0UVI

    So is it possible that my computer can indeed play the game..at low settings or medium but with some low settings like AA off Shadows low or off. I am not sure if they are some what the same in terms of graphics..but I played LOTRO on medium settings and I was able to play it just fine (just couldnt really get into it..bored me a little). Most F2P games I have played "Can you RUN it" has said fail..but I can play them fine on low or medium..though they only one that was still funny on low (which was the only settings it would let me run) was RIFT..but then again MAX settings for that game look a whole lot better then GW2..not saying GW2 doesn't look great because it does. But low settings on GW2 look better then low settings on RIFT.

  7. #17
    Elsa! :3 Reputation: 572
    SnOwPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Flanders
    Posts
    12,119
    Rep Power
    24

    Default

    No. It won't.

    Operating System
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
    CPU
    Intel Core i3 4130 @ 3.40GHz 41 C
    Haswell 22nm Technology
    RAM
    8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. H81M-DS2 (SOCKET 0) 28 C
    Graphics
    20EN43 (1600x900@60Hz)
    Intel HD Graphics 4400 (Gigabyte)
    2048MB ATI AMD Radeon R7 200 Series (Sapphire/PCPartner) 53 C
    Also, the video you linked is an i7 laptop with a HD4400. It's going to have A LOT more processing power than you have.

    Now if you'd like, what's the exact Intel HD GPU that you have?


    [My Anime List] | [last.fm] | [xfire] | [Steam]
    Quote Originally Posted by duby View Post
    i have no clue as to what a paragraph is

  8. #18
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 243
    HamsterMascot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Hamsterville
    Posts
    12,740
    Rep Power
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    No. It won't.



    Also, the video you linked is an i7 laptop with a HD4400. It's going to have A LOT more processing power than you have.

    Now if you'd like, what's the exact Intel HD GPU that you have?
    The other video he linked was a i5 3570k with integrated graphics.

    @Megatonix. You're still only considering the gpu. Yet you fail to realize that a PC is made out of more components.

  9. #19
    Bladin's Sword Sharpener Reputation: 88
    FarmerM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,151
    Rep Power
    2

    Default

    We're all saying it won't run the game well.
    BUT If you have never had the experience of buying a game that your PC can not run well...

    Go ahead and buy it. It's a life lesson we all need.

  10. #20
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    I took what all of you said and decided not to get the game as I really don't want to spend 50 dollars on something I will not be able to play. So instead I got myself Castlevania lords of shadow 2 for my xbox. Really wish I had a computer with Xbox specs..then I can play games. Funny thing with that is..I spent the same on my computer as my freaking xbox go figure. What a waste. Next time I am not getting intergrated graphics. Is there a computer I can get around...I don't know..umm 700-800 that can play GW2 and other games? I wouldn't really want to spend 1000+on a computer. (though I don't have any source of steady income)

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •