Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 27

Thread: Guild Wars 2 Specs help.

  1. #1
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Guild Wars 2 Specs help.

    Hi, I have been looking into GW2 because it seems like a really fun game and I would love to play it. So I did a Spec test and it seems like I can play the game, but I want to get some more help from you guys.

    CPU
    Minimum: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz, Core i3, AMD Athlon 64 X2 or better
    You Have: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU P6100 @ 2.00GHz CPU
    CPU Speed
    Minimum: Info
    You Have: 2.0 GHz
    RAM
    Minimum: 2 GB
    You Have: 3.0 GB
    OS
    Minimum: Windows XP Service Pack 2 or better
    You Have: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition Service Pack 1 (build 7601), 64-bit
    Windows
    Video Card
    Minimum: NVIDIA GeForce 7800, ATI Radeon X1800, Intel HD 3000 or better (256 MB of video RAM and shader model 3.0 or better)
    You Have: Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Features: Minimum attributes of your Video Card
    Required You Have
    Icon Pixel Shader version 3.0 4.0
    Icon Vertex Shader version 3.0 4.0
    Icon Dedicated Video RAM 256 MB 64 MB
    Sound Card
    Minimum: Yes
    You Have: Conexant SmartAudio HD
    Sound Card
    Free Disk Space
    Minimum: 25 GB
    You Have: 203.0 GB
    Free Disk Space

    If my memory is correct I think I had played a free weekend before and played the game on Medium settings and seemed fine. But not 100% sure.

    Also I don't have the money to upgrade/get a new computer. But I really want a good MMORPG to play and Guild Wars 2 seems to be it. I hear it is really PVE but with some PVP stuff also. I am kind of the solo PVE person.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Can anyone help?

  3. #3
    Retired Staff Reputation: 704
    SnOwBunZz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hamster's closet.
    Posts
    12,738
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    I'm pretty sure you'll have trouble in the more busy areas and/or graphical areas (think bosses or instances with a lot of effects). It's not worth the trouble I'm afraid.

  4. #4
    Master Chief's Windex Reputation: 10
    Iraqiman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    97
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    Yea sorry, but gw2 is HEAVILY cpu dependent. That CPU will ensure your FPS is very low.

  5. #5
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    So it wouldn't play well on low settings? Would it be absolutely unplayable? Like I said I am not 100% sure but I think when I played a free weekend of it I had settings at medium. Shadows off (which is what really makes my computer crazy.) Really wish there was a way to actually check. Wish I could try the game again.

  6. #6
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    2

    Default

    you have to meet the minimum requirements at least! maybe you can play it on all low resolution but your computer will lag i guess

  7. #7
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alkestis View Post
    you have to meet the minimum requirements at least! maybe you can play it on all low resolution but your computer will lag i guess
    I read that someone said they have a computer with simple specs like mine and they play GW2 on low graphics with no problem..just cant play WvW and that stuff. I mean when I did the can you run it test (which is where that list comes from that I posted) all was in green except for the Video RAM part...which leaves me to think that had that have been equal or greater I would have past.

  8. #8
    Roon's Rogue Reputation: 117
    coldReactive's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,291
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Never get AMD if you want to run GW2.

    Only plays Magic DPS Classes, Healers and Machinist/Engineers.
    Playing MMO: FFXIV (Balmung)
    Waiting On: FFXV, KH3, Tree of Savior, RE:FFVII Saving For: New Computer

  9. #9
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coldReactive View Post
    Never get AMD if you want to run GW2.
    Yes but can I run it? or should I not even bother and just spend my money on Xbox games like I usually do. Just really wanted an MMORPG to play and GW2 really got my eye.

  10. #10
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    If this person can play GW2 just fine with intel graphics then shouldnt I?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNO3xNcgt1A
    Also
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3nvVevqMFM

    I mean unless I am missing something? They have Intel HD also.

  11. #11
    HopeDagger's Henchman Reputation: 204
    FarmerM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,263
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    AMD vs Intel isn't really a huge issue. I have run AMD for years.
    It's about the quality of whichever you are using, and sadly your system is lacking.

    I would be amazed if you could run it on low at 15fps.

  12. #12
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MegaToxic View Post
    If this person can play GW2 just fine with intel graphics then shouldnt I?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNO3xNcgt1A
    Also
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3nvVevqMFM

    I mean unless I am missing something? They have Intel HD also.
    So seriously can someone explain this to me? If these two people can play GW2 with Intel HD graphics on low and what looks like medium with low then shouldn't I be able to? I feel like I would probably also get the FPS that the person in the second video got.

  13. #13
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 317
    Bad Hamster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Hamsterville
    Posts
    13,644
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Simple. You're using a laptop. That processor isn't made for heavy processes. It's great for simple things like browsing the internet or things like maplestory. But using it in 3D games like GW2 is highly impossible. It also doesn't change that GW2 has a awful optimized engine, and the recommended specs will be changed into the minimum.

    Want more proof? I run a i7 3770k 3.9Ghz (turbo), 2x Asus GTX660TI, 16gb ram and I run it on max settings not even above the 50fps.

    Want even more proof? Those videos are atleast 2 years old.

  14. #14
    Retired Staff Reputation: 704
    SnOwBunZz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hamster's closet.
    Posts
    12,738
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    What Hamster said.

    Laptop CPUs generally perform very poorly in games. Especially on a budget laptop like yours.

  15. #15
    Roon's Rogue Reputation: 117
    coldReactive's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,291
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    And as I've been told and said. Mobile GPUs are lower spec'd than their desktop variants. For instance, a GTX 780M is more like a GTX 650 or so. AMD However has the better Mobile advantage in GPUs. For instance, a 7950 or so would be more like a 7500~7600 or so.

    Only plays Magic DPS Classes, Healers and Machinist/Engineers.
    Playing MMO: FFXIV (Balmung)
    Waiting On: FFXV, KH3, Tree of Savior, RE:FFVII Saving For: New Computer

  16. #16
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Okay..so I am still doing some searching and some people say that GW2 is pretty optimized when it comes to graphics. Well here is a link of someone asking basically the same thing I asked with intel HD graphics and they were told they would be able to play the game. Have I said I would mainly just be doing PVE? http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/...uild-wars.html
    Also here is a video not too old like the others, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qVz2RUS0UVI

    So is it possible that my computer can indeed play the game..at low settings or medium but with some low settings like AA off Shadows low or off. I am not sure if they are some what the same in terms of graphics..but I played LOTRO on medium settings and I was able to play it just fine (just couldnt really get into it..bored me a little). Most F2P games I have played "Can you RUN it" has said fail..but I can play them fine on low or medium..though they only one that was still funny on low (which was the only settings it would let me run) was RIFT..but then again MAX settings for that game look a whole lot better then GW2..not saying GW2 doesn't look great because it does. But low settings on GW2 look better then low settings on RIFT.

  17. #17
    Retired Staff Reputation: 704
    SnOwBunZz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hamster's closet.
    Posts
    12,738
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    No. It won't.

    Operating System
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
    CPU
    Intel Core i3 4130 @ 3.40GHz 41 C
    Haswell 22nm Technology
    RAM
    8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
    Motherboard
    Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. H81M-DS2 (SOCKET 0) 28 C
    Graphics
    20EN43 (1600x900@60Hz)
    Intel HD Graphics 4400 (Gigabyte)
    2048MB ATI AMD Radeon R7 200 Series (Sapphire/PCPartner) 53 C
    Also, the video you linked is an i7 laptop with a HD4400. It's going to have A LOT more processing power than you have.

    Now if you'd like, what's the exact Intel HD GPU that you have?

  18. #18
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 317
    Bad Hamster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Hamsterville
    Posts
    13,644
    Rep Power
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    No. It won't.



    Also, the video you linked is an i7 laptop with a HD4400. It's going to have A LOT more processing power than you have.

    Now if you'd like, what's the exact Intel HD GPU that you have?
    The other video he linked was a i5 3570k with integrated graphics.

    @Megatonix. You're still only considering the gpu. Yet you fail to realize that a PC is made out of more components.

  19. #19
    HopeDagger's Henchman Reputation: 204
    FarmerM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,263
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    We're all saying it won't run the game well.
    BUT If you have never had the experience of buying a game that your PC can not run well...

    Go ahead and buy it. It's a life lesson we all need.

  20. #20
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    I took what all of you said and decided not to get the game as I really don't want to spend 50 dollars on something I will not be able to play. So instead I got myself Castlevania lords of shadow 2 for my xbox. Really wish I had a computer with Xbox specs..then I can play games. Funny thing with that is..I spent the same on my computer as my freaking xbox go figure. What a waste. Next time I am not getting intergrated graphics. Is there a computer I can get around...I don't know..umm 700-800 that can play GW2 and other games? I wouldn't really want to spend 1000+on a computer. (though I don't have any source of steady income)

  21. #21
    Retired Staff Reputation: 704
    SnOwBunZz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hamster's closet.
    Posts
    12,738
    Rep Power
    29

    Default

    I assume building your own isn't a real option so you're a bit limited...

    If you're willing to go up to 850USD, get this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883103854
    It's the most ideal one I could find up to about 900USD.

    Here's one for 750USD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883220444 (found in the clearance section so don't wait too long!)
    CPU's a bit slower but that pretty much only will affect you in applications optimized for multithreaded usage. (read: currently N/A for gaming)

    If you plan on using this PC for a long time, it might be worth considering the first I linked due to a multithreaded CPU and the i7 is generally a tad more powerful overall. (My old Intel Q9550 lasted 4 years with fairly good performance before I decided to upgrade)
    You also might want to wait for recommendations of the other regulars in this subsection. They could recommend a better PC.

  22. #22
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Okay thanks. Yeah If I were to buy a PC it would be for the long run. Though I am no where near ready (money wise) to buy PC but getting suggestions before hand is still great.

  23. #23
    Roon's Rogue Reputation: 117
    coldReactive's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,291
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    What kind of long-run? 3-5 years? More?

    Only plays Magic DPS Classes, Healers and Machinist/Engineers.
    Playing MMO: FFXIV (Balmung)
    Waiting On: FFXV, KH3, Tree of Savior, RE:FFVII Saving For: New Computer

  24. #24
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by coldReactive View Post
    What kind of long-run? 3-5 years? More?
    Yeah probably More. I mean if it is a desktop I can upgrade it when I want if I need to correct?

  25. #25
    Roon's Rogue Reputation: 117
    coldReactive's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    4,291
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MegaToxic View Post
    Yeah probably More. I mean if it is a desktop I can upgrade it when I want if I need to correct?
    Yeah, some options now will net you over that 5+ Year time, like a GTX Titan. GTX 800 series will be coming to desktop soon, it's already on the next Razer Blade 14 inch lappy though.

    Only plays Magic DPS Classes, Healers and Machinist/Engineers.
    Playing MMO: FFXIV (Balmung)
    Waiting On: FFXV, KH3, Tree of Savior, RE:FFVII Saving For: New Computer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •