Computer locking up.

  1. #1
    TerrinBlaze's Treasure Reputation: 32

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,080
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Computer locking up.

    I think the issue is with the ram.. Since my computer would freeze/lock up.

    However, I consulted with other tech forum sites and they said that it is strange since if it is a ram issue I would get BSOD screens.

    I didn't get any BSOD screens when my computer locked up so I don't know what to think right now.

  2. #2
    Nick is a wanker. Reputation: 605
    SnOwPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Flanders
    Posts
    12,263
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Locking up with generally no errors -> your HDD is dying or close to dying.

    Scan with HDTune, especially the SMART scan, and let us know what it says.
    Telling us the brand of your HDD is also going to be nice.


    [My Anime List] | [last.fm] | [xfire] | [Steam]
    Quote Originally Posted by duby View Post
    i have no clue as to what a paragraph is

  3. #3
    TerrinBlaze's Treasure Reputation: 32

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,080
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    Locking up with generally no errors -> your HDD is dying or close to dying.

    Scan with HDTune, especially the SMART scan, and let us know what it says.
    Telling us the brand of your HDD is also going to be nice.

    I am using a crucial SSD M500

  4. #4
    Nick is a wanker. Reputation: 605
    SnOwPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Flanders
    Posts
    12,263
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Espada1 View Post
    SSD
    So either an SSD from a bad batch (which happens occasionally, SSDs aren't that perfect yet) or you do have another issue.

    Either way, can you return the HDTune smart scan?
    Telling us about the actual lock-up would be nice (just locks up until you manually reboot etc).
    If it automatically reboots, you still could have BSODs, just that your windows settings skip it. You should have an error log in Event Viewer and a file in C:\Windows\Minidump. Any errors (outside from HDDs screwing up, personal experience) should leave an entry in Event Viewer. Look under Windows Logs -> Application if you want take a look for errors in Event Viewer.


    [My Anime List] | [last.fm] | [xfire] | [Steam]
    Quote Originally Posted by duby View Post
    i have no clue as to what a paragraph is

  5. #5
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 253
    HamsterMascot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Hamsterville
    Posts
    12,907
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    So either an SSD from a bad batch (which happens occasionally, SSDs aren't that perfect yet) or you do have another issue.

    Either way, can you return the HDTune smart scan?
    Telling us about the actual lock-up would be nice (just locks up until you manually reboot etc).
    If it automatically reboots, you still could have BSODs, just that your windows settings skip it. You should have an error log in Event Viewer and a file in C:\Windows\Minidump. Any errors (outside from HDDs screwing up, personal experience) should leave an entry in Event Viewer. Look under Windows Logs -> Application if you want take a look for errors in Event Viewer.
    It could be just his cpu or gpu. Not everything is a HDD failure if a system keeps freezing, even without bsod's. Or even worse! His PSU xD

  6. #6
    Nick is a wanker. Reputation: 605
    SnOwPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Flanders
    Posts
    12,263
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    That's why I told him to look in Event Viewer and tell more about his pc locking up. The first few results on google about his SSD from user reviews also suggest that his SSD is more likely to fail compared to other brands.


    [My Anime List] | [last.fm] | [xfire] | [Steam]
    Quote Originally Posted by duby View Post
    i have no clue as to what a paragraph is

  7. #7
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 173
    Phanein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The Chatbox
    Posts
    892
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    That's why I told him to look in Event Viewer and tell more about his pc locking up. The first few results on google about his SSD from user reviews also suggest that his SSD is more likely to fail compared to other brands.
    It is a Crucial M500 aka the shit of the brand name SSD world. (Note: Shitty brand name SSD still trumps chinese SSD & HDD.) So I wouldn't actually be surprised if it failed on him. I actually had to replace two M500's in a couple of friend's computers because of bad sectors.
    # ᴛ ʜ ᴇ ʏ ᴄ ᴀ ʟ ʟ ᴍ ᴇ ᴛ ʜ ᴇ s ᴏ ʀ ᴄ ᴇ ʀ ᴇ ʀ s ᴜ ᴘ ʀ ᴇ ᴍ ᴇ ʙ ᴇ ᴄ ᴀ ᴜ s ᴇ ɪ ' ᴍ s ᴏ s ᴛ ʀ ᴀ ɴ ɢ ᴇ.


  8. #8
    The Undead Reputation: 470
    Z0MBiE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    [REDACTED]
    Posts
    5,456
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    When mine was locking up without BSODs it ended up being the GPU. Installing different drivers fixed that. Just my 2 cents.

  9. #9
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 253
    HamsterMascot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Hamsterville
    Posts
    12,907
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SnOwBunZz View Post
    That's why I told him to look in Event Viewer and tell more about his pc locking up. The first few results on google about his SSD from user reviews also suggest that his SSD is more likely to fail compared to other brands.
    I'm going to laugh if it's a psu error. He wanted to be cheap on as many parts as needed, especially the ones that only was for powering up the needed "gaming" stuff.

  10. #10
    Fabio_R's Fruitcup Reputation: 384
    TreyTrey12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
    Posts
    3,682
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HamsterMascot View Post
    I'm going to laugh if it's a psu error. He wanted to be cheap on as many parts as needed, especially the ones that only was for powering up the needed "gaming" stuff.
    I was at work the other day and this guy was in the tech shop trying to figure out what was wrong with his pc as it wouldn't turn on, so he got talked into buying a thermal take power supply and when he hooked it up in front of me the Damn thing literally blew up almost. The smell of dead capacitors soon followed.

    I hooked him up with an evga and it fired up perfectly.

    It was beautiful cause usually cheap power supplies will take your system out with them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •