Someone trying to access my internet

  1. #1
    `Doll's Dishwasher Reputation: 38
    Imperidal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,419
    Rep Power
    6

    Default Someone trying to access my internet

    Hey guys, theres this 1 guy in my apartment is using my internet by connecting his computer through a wire to my router.

    I have blocked his MAC address but it seems on my 'attached devices' on my admin router page, it says his device is still attached.

    By blocking, i have only allow my devices to connect to my router, so any other MAC addresses will be automatically blocked.

    Its impossible to block a wired connection? Or is the page just lying to me bcoz he actually cant access the internet.

    If i cant do anything to block this guy, might as well talk to him.

    p/s: im using netgear n300 router

    NOW PLAYING:
    D3

    WAITING FOR:
    Wonderking
    Tree of Saviour

  2. #2
    Nick is a wanker. Reputation: 605
    SnOwPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Flanders
    Posts
    12,261
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    I take it you guys don't have your routers in your apartment yourselves?
    I'm not sure about your router but you could have a block feature on the routerpage that lists all connected devices.

    If that doesn't help, try rebooting your router. This normally should finally enforce your MAC-bans.


    [My Anime List] | [last.fm] | [xfire] | [Steam]
    Quote Originally Posted by duby View Post
    i have no clue as to what a paragraph is

  3. #3
    The Undead Reputation: 470
    Z0MBiE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    [REDACTED]
    Posts
    5,454
    Rep Power
    18

    Default

    It'll always tell you it's connected to the router, blocked or not, afaik.

    You could do some sniffing with Cain and Abel or Wireshark maybe, see if there's any activity going on. Cain also supports ARP Poisoning in case you want his Facebook password for science.

  4. #4
    Nick is a wanker. Reputation: 605
    SnOwPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Flanders
    Posts
    12,261
    Rep Power
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Z0MBiE View Post
    It'll always tell you it's connected to the router, blocked or not, afaik.


    Netgear CG3700. I don't think it'll be that much difference in terms of options and whatnot.


    [My Anime List] | [last.fm] | [xfire] | [Steam]
    Quote Originally Posted by duby View Post
    i have no clue as to what a paragraph is

  5. #5
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 38
    lolzmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    879
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    You can always go and beat him up

  6. #6
    `Doll's Dishwasher Reputation: 38
    Imperidal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,419
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Lol.

    Through some testings, it seems my router cant block MAC address with wired connection. I end up blocking all possible IP addresses with firewall, except for mine. Glad that works.

    My router is actually at the common lounge and he had his PC set up there to plug to my router through a wire. While he wasnt at this PC this morning, i plugged out his internet cable and put a note on the router.

    If he still insists on trying to steal my goddamn wifi, ill chop his balls.

    NOW PLAYING:
    D3

    WAITING FOR:
    Wonderking
    Tree of Saviour

  7. #7
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    If you control the router you control the traffic.You should be able to setup ACLs depending on the router but if it is a low end router you could just curve his traffic to anyplace you want with static assignments. I use to play jokes on friends a while back by routing their traffic. For example you could setup www.google.com to go to www.onrpg.com

    Also you could turn off DHCP and set a static IP to you mac.

  8. #8
    Link's a Hippie! Reputation: 50
    KEV1N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    677
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Have you tried talking to him?

  9. #9
    `Doll's Dishwasher Reputation: 38
    Imperidal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,419
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    I did what Tsetsu said. But he still tries to connect to my router till today regularly and keep failing rofl.

    NOW PLAYING:
    D3

    WAITING FOR:
    Wonderking
    Tree of Saviour

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •