Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 52

Thread: Nifty little Infinity program I made...

  1. #1
    ChimaeraOne's Cookie Reputation: 20
    Dreakon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,383
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Nifty little Infinity program I made...

    Yeah, I made a little Infinity program because I was bored and it only took a few minutes.

    If your a person like myself who use an unsupported browser, don't want to use IE, hate having to load games by logging in on the website first and enjoy having an organized desktop... then perhaps you'll find my program useful. If not, whatever.

    Basically, what the program is, is its a little program that loads the official Infinity site. Sounds stupid right? Well yeah, probably... but it only loads the part that shows the login area. Whats the advantage of this?:

    a) No need to load the browser itself, or navigate to get into the site.

    b) If you use Firefox or something it doesn't support, this program will still work since it runs off IE (as long as you have some kind of Windows).

    c) It looks pretty damn nice.


    Here's a pic of the program running:



    If your interested, you can download it here. Be sure to read the readme as it might have some useful information:
    http://www.filecabin.com/up1/1160686...nityLaunch.zip

    Feel free to post comments and whatever here. It's a pretty straight-forward program but if you need help feel free to ask.

  2. #2
    Banned Reputation: 15

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,037
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    i'll use it but i want someone to take a look at it first since its an exe =/

  3. #3
    ChimaeraOne's Cookie Reputation: 20
    Dreakon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,383
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Fair enough, I can assure you there's no viruses or anything malicious in it. Not only do I not know how to do it, but I'm not really the kind of person that would do it.

    But just FYI, all the program does is load the site. The program itself just centers in on the login part. This means that if you have no internet connection or the site is down, the program won't function (you'll get a Site Can't Load or something like that, just as you would in IE if you couldn't connect).

  4. #4
    Rock Man Reputation: 11
    S†ephanus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Vatican
    Posts
    418
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Doesn't work for me,gives me an error. =/

    Ad majorem dei gloriam et ecclasiam sui! In nomines patres, et fili, et spiritus sancti, Ita ero! Amen!

  5. #5
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10
    enigmajk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    77
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Inugami View Post
    i'll use it but i want someone to take a look at it first since its an exe =/
    Its clean, I just have to download the .NET Framework off microsoft. I was looking for something like this and I'm glad Dreakon decided to make something like this.

  6. #6
    ChimaeraOne's Cookie Reputation: 20
    Dreakon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,383
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by S†ephanus View Post
    Doesn't work for me,gives me an error. =/
    What does the error say, and when does it happen?

    Quote Originally Posted by enigmajk View Post
    Its clean, I just have to download the .NET Framework off microsoft. I was looking for something like this and I'm glad Dreakon decided to make something like this.
    Glad someone will use it. My worst fears when I post something like this is people won't like it, it won't work or people will just ignore it. If even one person enjoys it, it's worth making and posting here.
    Last edited by Dreakon; 10-12-2006 at 09:55 PM.

  7. #7
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10
    enigmajk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    77
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    One reason S†ephanus might be having a problem is if he dosent have Microsofts .NET Framework 2.0. I got that error at first but remembered I forgot to reinstall it after I did a fresh install of XP.

  8. #8
    ChimaeraOne's Cookie Reputation: 20
    Dreakon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,383
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Yeah, I wouldn't be surprised if more people have the same issue. Well, I guess if you wanna use it, you'll need .NET Framework 2.0...

  9. #9
    Banned Reputation: 8
    Associated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    In The Sky
    Posts
    1,495
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I'll try it out once the game is actually out lol.

    But it looks good ^_^

  10. #10
    Rock Man Reputation: 11
    S†ephanus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Vatican
    Posts
    418
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by enigmajk View Post
    One reason S†ephanus might be having a problem is if he dosent have Microsofts .NET Framework 2.0. I got that error at first but remembered I forgot to reinstall it after I did a fresh install of XP.
    I installed .NET Framework,works now =3

    Ad majorem dei gloriam et ecclasiam sui! In nomines patres, et fili, et spiritus sancti, Ita ero! Amen!

  11. #11
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10
    enigmajk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    77
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by S†ephanus View Post
    I installed .NET Framework,works now =3
    Sweet, now we play the waiting game. I was looking forward to playing today but I dont think I will get to.

  12. #12
    Banned Reputation: 8
    Associated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    In The Sky
    Posts
    1,495
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Yuhp, now we just have to wait.

    And btw, congratz on your 69th post =P

  13. #13
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    which folder do i put it in theres Windysoft and then theres Infinity_Eng

  14. #14
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    and i think ill just post once more to get to thirty

  15. #15
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    nevermind i got it

  16. #16
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    thats cool as hell they should have this for all games that you need to log in on a web page

  17. #17
    Snakes Big Toe Reputation: 15
    MagicElf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    VT Baby
    Posts
    444
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    hmm. it must be hard to make this is it?

  18. #18
    Cloud13's Clown Reputation: 57
    Duo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    twitch.tv/after5
    Posts
    2,846
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    umm..just double click the infinity shortcut you get and the page loads in 1 second ftw?

    EDIT: bakerer has set the record of quad posting


    Okunen Guild Leader. Click banner to learn more!

    Current main game: Blade & Soul West (upon release)


  19. #19
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duo View Post
    umm..just double click the infinity shortcut you get and the page loads in 1 second ftw?

    EDIT: bakerer has set the record of quad posting
    lol and to make it even worse its all something that coulda gone into one.

    actually no it couldnt

  20. #20
    ChimaeraOne's Cookie Reputation: 20
    Dreakon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,383
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duo View Post
    umm..just double click the infinity shortcut you get and the page loads in 1 second ftw?
    If that's what you want. The program isn't different, I just think it looks and feels a bit nicer and it might be a bit faster then the IE shortcut they give ya (since the program probably doesn't have quite as many features/whatnot to load).

    I really just made this for myself, I just figured I'd post it to give the option.

  21. #21
    Still learning the ropes Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    nice work, too bad it needs framework

  22. #22
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    does IE have to be ur main browser? cant we still have IE and make firefox our main browser to make it still work?

  23. #23
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dreakon View Post
    Yeah, I made a little Infinity program because I was bored and it only took a few minutes.

    If your a person like myself who use an unsupported browser, don't want to use IE, hate having to load games by logging in on the website first and enjoy having an organized desktop... then perhaps you'll find my program useful. If not, whatever.

    Basically, what the program is, is its a little program that loads the official Infinity site. Sounds stupid right? Well yeah, probably... but it only loads the part that shows the login area. Whats the advantage of this?:

    a) No need to load the browser itself, or navigate to get into the site.

    b) If you use Firefox or something it doesn't support, this program will still work since it runs off IE (as long as you have some kind of Windows).

    c) It looks pretty damn nice.


    Here's a pic of the program running:



    If your interested, you can download it here. Be sure to read the readme as it might have some useful information:
    http://www.filecabin.com/up1/1160686...nityLaunch.zip

    Feel free to post comments and whatever here. It's a pretty straight-forward program but if you need help feel free to ask.
    i like your theme for windows. is it xp? if so where can i get one like it?

  24. #24
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10
    enigmajk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    77
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    It looks to be Vista or XP running Windows Blinds.

  25. #25
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 198
    Asiankid0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Recession States of America
    Posts
    9,072
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    yea the program is great and all. I downloaded and tried it and its very useful...

    but what caught my eye was....

    your WALLPAPER!!!!!!!!! OMG where did u get it!!!!!????
    I want something like that on my desktop!!!!! Did u find it online? where? can you tell me the site??? please!!!!! (Ah...sorry that I am excited....I am like this when I see a sweet nature scene).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •