Can't play Gunz behind router? Lag too much? Read this fix!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    8

    Exclamation Can't play Gunz behind router? Lag too much? Read this fix!

    I've discovered the fix for people who can't play Gunz behind a router that has built-in firewall that can't be disabled. If you join any game and only find yourself moving and everyone else just freeze there, this guide will show you how to fix it so you can play Gunz behind your Firewall Router, it will also help reduce lag and allow you to play Gunz with multiple machines behind your router.

    Router Solution for Gunz - The Duel
    Discovered on Oct 16th 2006 30AM Pacific Standard Time

    Visit http://www.shintasoft.com
    Located at "Flippers n00b Support" section of the forum, read the pinned topic, please do not redistribute this guide elsewhere, you may link it directly, which is located at: http://www.shintasoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17
    Last edited by CSharp1314; 12-05-2006 at 04:26 AM.
    http://www.shintasoft.com
    Shintasoft - Your Windows On The Internet ^_^
    We provide English version Super Robot Wars game, anime download and free Ragnarok Online game play.

  2. #2
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10
    P00NIS-Gunz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Not Jesus land.
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    No offence, i don't really feel like registering an unknown site to read the instructions. It would be smarter if you just pasted the instructions instead of making us take the time of registering and such.

  3. #3
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    8

    Exclamation

    No offense, but I did this intentionally, if it's something not worth your time, then just ignore it, thank you.
    http://www.shintasoft.com
    Shintasoft - Your Windows On The Internet ^_^
    We provide English version Super Robot Wars game, anime download and free Ragnarok Online game play.

  4. #4
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10
    P00NIS-Gunz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Not Jesus land.
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    i just found out how to fix it

  5. #5
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    8

    Exclamation

    Great, have fun with Gunz, it's a good game.
    http://www.shintasoft.com
    Shintasoft - Your Windows On The Internet ^_^
    We provide English version Super Robot Wars game, anime download and free Ragnarok Online game play.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Reputation: 195
    olaph's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    With the Smurfs
    Posts
    11,564
    Rep Power
    17

    Default

    i wonder if i should post how to do it
    don't think it really changed anything
    its so simple but its got to do with the ports :P

  7. #7
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    11
    Rep Power
    8

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by olaph View Post
    i wonder if i should post how to do it
    don't think it really changed anything
    its so simple but its got to do with the ports :P
    Please let people go read my guide themselves, thanks ^_^;
    http://www.shintasoft.com
    Shintasoft - Your Windows On The Internet ^_^
    We provide English version Super Robot Wars game, anime download and free Ragnarok Online game play.

  8. #8
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    let see....

    Router Solution for Gunz - The Duel
    Discovered on Oct 16th 2006 30AM Pacific Standard Time

    I originally played Gunz at my friend's house behind a router, everything works fine there. When I got home, nothing works, whenever I join a game, only I move and everyone else just freeze there. Even DMZ server doesn't work, so I spent hours trying to figure out what's wrong by modifying windows and router settings. Finally, I tried opening the port on the router, and that fixed everything. I have never encounter any game that doesn't work behind DMZ. I suspect that Gunz is Peer to Peer based, and the server is only for saving character informations, that's why you are able to login to the server but unable to play the game. Smart move for MAIET for saving their server resources and bandwidth, but that cost them to lose popularity, because many people behind a router with built-in firewall that can't be disabled were not able to play the game. It also made it easy to for hackers to hack the game because of this game's network protocol, that cost discouragement to the players who doesn't use hacks. Great job on MAIET, they really nailed themselves on this one.

    Step 1:
    Launch Gunz, login to the server, go to Options, MISC, under Port Setting:
    Change 7700 - 7800 to 7700 - 7700

    Step 2:
    Login to your router's configuration page, look at the screenshot below, change YourlanIPhere to your LAN (Local Area Network, ex: 192.168.0.100) IP address and click Apply.
    http://www.shintasoft.com/images/gunzrouterfix.jpg
    This screenshot is taken from a DLINK router, but you should be able to do this with any brand of router.

    Optional Step:
    If you have multiple PCs and would like to play Gunz on all of them, just do Step 1 and 2 using a different port and LAN IP address (ex: 7701 - 7701, 192.168.0.101).

    he got me tired...

  9. #9
    Raider of Empty Tombs Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    354
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    lol wat a joke.
    try playing any game behind a strict firewall that allows only port 80 and that you cannot change. example : universities, some companies etc
    I know how, and let me tell its no "open port" noobsauce joke.

  10. #10
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Looks really halpfull.
    Can I do the same thing for S4 league?
    If I do.
    Can someone help with a little guide ? ^ ^

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •