Game Development and Copyright Infringement

Hybrid View

Orc's Breathmint Reputation: 10

Default Game Development and Copyright Infringement

Greetings, All! I'm not normally one to rant or get angry about how silly people are being, but this topic of copyright needs to dealt with. You're probably thinking, "Why should I listen to him? How would he know?" I know because I'm a professional graphic designer. As a graphic designer you NEED to know everything you can about copyrights, trademarks, and Fair Use Act. It's a part of the profession. Okay. So here it goes:

Copyright is of course protection given to people when they create something. This something is usually either a piece of art, a work of writing, or some form of music. Nowadays, copyright is created the moment something is made. It is protected for life under thye creators name (unless he transfers the copyright to someone else). The fair use act gives people who are not the copyright holder the ability to use the work for certain tasks. The first task is comment and criticism. People are allowed to use portions of the work to make commentary on the owkr itself. This is so people can use their freedom of speech and show examples. The other use is parody. Take "Weird" Al for example. He parodies other musicians' songs. By law, he is allowed to parody those without permission of any kind, but he's just a nice guy so he asks first. You CANNOT in any other way uses works under copyright whether it's for profit or not.

Now for trademarks. Trademarks are a little different. Unlike copyright, they are not automatically set. People need to pay thousands of dollars (I believe it's currently $5,000, but I could be wrong) to get a trademark set. If the owner does not protect his trademark, he loses it. Trademarks are also under the Fair Use Act and can be used in the same ways as above. This is how Family Guy can get away with what they do (and many other shows/movies/etc.).