Making Games Work With Vista

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
  1. #1
    Snakes Big Toe Reputation: 15
    MagicElf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    VT Baby
    Posts
    444
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Making Games Work With Vista

    As you guys know, vista is supposidly incompatible with a lot of games, here are a few steps i do EVERYGAME before i give up and uninstall it.

    1-Right click the icon for the game on the desktop and click properties.

    2-Click compatibility

    3-Check run this program as administrater, then click the run this program in the compatibility mode of Windows XP SP2

    4-Click Apply and than okay.

    5-Now you can run the game, it takes a couple times to get all the programs allowed through the firewall, and if u log in and it sticks at connecting, alt tab and see if theres a thing u need to allow, if so, allow it.

    Thanks
    Last edited by MagicElf; 07-01-2008 at 04:19 PM.

  2. #2
    Olpah's Object Reputation: 72
    takkun88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Windows XP-----Score 1
    Windows Vista---Score 0



  3. #3
    OnRPG Elite Member! Reputation: 286
    WerewolfX's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Azkaban
    Posts
    15,773
    Rep Power
    20

    Default

    agreed Vista a reshahing of windows me,only prettier.

  4. #4
    Staff Admin Reputation: 29
    lothia's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Kent Washington
    Posts
    5,225
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Well I stickied it, hope it will help other people.

    Moderator since Aug 2004. I am a guy.
    Email me at lothia@gmail.com
    FFXI Tsukisa: 60pld/30War (retired)
    The OnRPG War

  5. #5
    Super Duper Uber Mega Ultra Extreme Reputation: 6

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    887
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Also , vista will encounter errors while updating Anti-hack systems like nprotect.

    To fix this, go into your windows >> web >> host file, edit the file in notepad, and use an alternate ip. (Ive allready done this 3 times, and all 3 times easily found alternate IP's by simply asking in the game's technical support forum)

    btw, I get a higher frame rate in my tweaked Vista than I ever did in my tweaked XP. - in pretty much everygame (tweaked as in tweaked, not as in bootleg) (so add another point to vista for that.)

  6. #6
    Wario’s Bad Accent Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow...
    Posts
    476
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    I'm getting rather tired of the Vista bashers. Vista never did anything to you, if you don't have Vista, then don't act like it is inferior in any way. Vista may have it's downs but it has alot of ups too.

  7. #7
    Murxidon's Maid Reputation: 18
    Darkone121's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Who Lives in a Pineapple Under the Sea?
    Posts
    2,039
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Woot I love you guys! Now i can download Vista!

  8. #8
    Marios's Mustache Wax Reputation: 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14
    Rep Power
    8

    Default

    I have vista and I never have any problem running a game. It just like what the topic starter said, just make it to admin. I never get error when updating stuff from nprotect, so it must be something with your computer. I have run many game with vista, so it isn't incompatible with lot of games.

  9. #9
    Snakes Big Toe Reputation: 15
    MagicElf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    VT Baby
    Posts
    444
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    please note this doesnt fix all games, and eventually i will add pictures
    and im freaking out about having a stickied post xD
    Last edited by MagicElf; 09-08-2007 at 01:47 AM.

  10. #10
    Cloud's Hair Spray Reputation: 10
    KiIIua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Unknown
    Posts
    71
    Rep Power
    9

    Default

    Well i still have trouble playing gunbound on vista maybe someone can help me on that, it like works on some vista computers and some dont... its weird



    Current Anime:
    Major
    OnePiece
    Aoki Densetsu Shoot
    Bleach

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •