Meta’s Verse: City of Heroes Final Halloween


Meta’s Verse: Halloween 2012

By Meticulous Meta, OnRPG Paragon Reporter

 

 

Halloween is a fantastic time in City of Heroes. Many, myself included would call it the best of all of City of Heroes’ events. They always added something new while keeping the classics. From trick or treating to zombie invasions this event is everything you could want in a modern day city full of super powered beings. And for the last time, this weekend City of Heroes will go dark for Halloween.

 

 

Holiday events are a long standing tradition in City of Heroes. And as much as I love the winter holiday event nothing in my mind can beat Halloween. For a set amount of time (this year only a weekend sadly) the world goes dark. There is no daylight which makes it a perfect time to farm badges for those creatures which only come out at night. And during this time every door becomes an opportunity for a treat…or a trick. Perhaps monster hunting is more your thing? Eochai and Jack in Irons escape Croatoa into the city. This is a great way to get reward merits and finding a monster hunting team is as simple as “Scrapper LF Monster Team”. If the sky goes red head for your nearest rally point and fight off zombie hoards. Or find the banners and take them out. And of course no one can forget the latest addition to Paragon’s Halloween fun, a haunted mansion. Enjoy all of these things this weekend. It won’t come again.

 

 

For me though, I love dressing my characters up. I spend sometimes a month picking out the perfect costumes for all my characters, This is the fourth year I’ve taken part in this tradition. I’ve had witches, Jessica Rabbit, and a million others. This year though I’m going above and beyond. It is the last Halloween in game after all. So everyone is getting several costumes because I don’t plan on stopping my characters just because the game is gone. I’ll need costumes for next year. And maybe even the year after that. This year’s costumes include an Egyptian Queen, a zebra, and Maleficent from Sleeping Beauty. Making Halloween costumes is going to be one of the biggest things I’ll miss from City of Heroes when it’s gone.

 

 

The dev created events are fun and all, but it’s the player events and my own personal Halloween events that are far more entertaining. The Cape on Virtue always has something planned while quite a few other super groups have held events in the past. But, it has been a few years since I’ve held my own Halloween event. My last one was at the height of Statesman’s Watch’s popularity on Virtue. But this year, I’m changing that. Now, I’m not talking about anything huge. Especially since I just came up with it today. But I haven’t put together a City of Heroes event in almost a week so I think it is about time to do it again!

So! Here are the details:

Meticulous Meta of OnRPG Hosts A Halloween Costume Contest

Date: October 27

Time: 7PM UK/2PM Eastern/11AM Pacific and 5PM Pacific/8PM Eastern/1Am UK

Location: Pocket D, Virtue

Theme: Halloween! Come wearing your best Halloween costumes.

Prizes: The top 6 winners (3 from each event) will be featured in next week’s Meta’s Verse article.

 

 

As this is something I have just planned more may be added to the event than just a costume contest as others come on board. I know quite a few people can’t move from their home server, and for those of you I am very sorry. As you can imagine it would be very time consuming if I tried to hit up all the servers twice a day for Europeans and North Americans. To keep up to date on the latest information about the Halloween costume festivities head over to the City of Heroes forums or the Titan Network forums. The threads are called Unity Event 2: Halloween. I hope to see all of you there with some fantastic costumes!

Social Media :