The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Wins ‘Game of the Year’ at GDC 2018

TLoZ: BotW Game Profile Banner

In a decision that could not have surprised anyone, Nintendo’s The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild was honored with the price for Game of the Year at GDC 2018. The groundbreaking open-world RPG also received awards for Best Audio and Best Design. An archive of the Independent Games Festival Awards can be viewed at this Twitch link. The Game Developers Choice Awards honor the very best games of the year and was created for and voted on by developers. Winners are selected by the Game Developers Choice Awards-specific International Choice Awards Network (ICAN), which is an invitation-only group comprised of leading game creators from all parts of the industry.

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award went to Double Fine and LucasArts developer Time Shafer, whose career spans almost three decades of adventure games across platforms and generations. Grim Fandango, Day of the Tentacle, Brutal Legend, Psychonauts 2 and Broken Age are just a few of the titles he worked on.

“Every year sees countless amazing games worthy of recognition, but this year, in particular, has seen some of the strongest titles to arrive this generation. The GDCAs give us an opportunity to reflect on and honor the games that provided us with endless joy,” said Katie Stern, General Manager of the Game Developers Conference. “The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild helped us rediscover a childlike sense of adventure and discovery. Titles like Gorogoa and What Remains of Edith Finch offered us distinct creative visions that can only be experienced in games, and games like Cuphead and Horizon Zero Dawn crafted worlds we could lose ourselves in. Congratulations to all of tonight’s nominees and winners and thank you for your creativity and dedication.”

The Game Developers Choice Awards winners are:

Best Audio:

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Nintendo)

Best Debut:

Studio MDHR (Cuphead)

Best Design:

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Nintendo)

Best Mobile Game:

Gorogoa (Jason Roberts/Buried Signal)

Innovation Award:

Gorogoa (Jason Roberts/Buried Signal)

Best Narrative:

What Remains of Edith Finch (Giant Sparrow)

Best Technology:

Horizon Zero Dawn (Guerrilla Games)

Best Visual Art:

Cuphead (Studio MDHR)

Best VR/AR Game:


Audience Award:

NieR:Automata (PlatinumGames)

Game of the Year:

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Nintendo)

Ambassador Award:

Rami Ismail

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Tim Schafer


Social Media :